fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Fair Enough?

Until the great mass of the people shall be filled with the sense of responsibility for each other's welfare, social justice can never be attained.
(Helen Keller)

Denouncing evil is a far cry from doing good.
(Philip Gourevitch)


Oops. Caught in the act! I was reading the Durham Times in Caffe Nero when I came across this article featuring my friend K and the Durham Fairtrade Directory that she has compiled. Caffe Nero is not on the list, although they do have an ethical approach that is perhaps more rigorous than some.

I'm not sure where the line is that makes something fair enough. I try to buy fairtrade ingredients where possible, freedom farmed meat, ethically caught fish, etc. However, at a time when anything is more expensive than usual and my income is lower than ever, this can be difficult. Equally though, it means that I identify so much more with those living in poverty, thus emphasising the importance of such schemes.

I guess the best thing to do is to aim to live in the best way possible in the circumstances you're in. So for example, I end up eating meat very rarely so that when I do buy it I can afford the compassionate kind. I just hope that I never have to do the same with tea!

When will there be .... ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.