fototherapy

By GirlKojak

Brigid's Cross

I would like the angels of Heaven to be among us.
I would like an abundance of peace.
I would like full vessels of charity.
I would like rich treasures of mercy.
I would like cheerfulness to preside over all.
I would like Jesus to be present.
I would like the three Marys of illustrious renown to be with us.
I would like the friends of Heaven to be gathered around us from all parts.
I would like myself to be a rent payer to the Lord;
that I should suffer distress, that he would bestow a good blessing upon me.
I would like a great lake of beer for the King of Kings.
I would like to be watching Heaven's family drinking it through all eternity.

(Attributed to St Brigid)


Well, I was looking for something Irish for St Patrick's Day and here it is ... St Brigid's Cross purchased by me in Killarney, Co. Kerry, in July 1995. It has been on my wall in various abodes across the country ever since, hence it is looking a little worse for wear these days!

What I didn't know until today is that Brigid of Kildare is also a patron saint of Ireland, as is Columba. Every day is a school day, as they say round here!

I've linked to Christy Moore songs before I think. I love his music, which is all very Irish in style and often about Irish history and politics. But I'll leave you with a nice jolly song and hope that you're all fully recovered from the 'great lake of beer' (see quote) of St Patrick's Day celebrations!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.