pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

For just a moment

“In the eye of a hurricane
There is quiet 
For just a moment”

Hurricane – Lin-Manuel Miranda 
(Hamilton…..obvs)

There have been a few moments today where I haven’t heard a thing. I swear that there was not a single sound to be found nor registered. Too much of this can be disconcerting, but after the all-out assault on the ears undertaken by Matty yesterday, I’ve got to be honest (what else is there?): it was actually quite nice.

With a busy, difficult week last week and hardly any quality time to myself, it has been good to have a moment to draw breath and reorder one’s thoughts before pressing forward once more. 

A hot and sweaty run at lunch was a big help, so was tea from last night’s flippin’ awesome homemade Sausage Pasta Bake (made cheese sauce for the first time – it was actually edible!), but the icing on the cake this beautiful evening was a walk around Levens Deer Park with only my camera for company.

I barely encountered another soul until I got to the Levens Hall end where a lot of families were enjoying a nice splash around in the coolness of the river. It was a nice sight, but I didn’t linger – a lone figure in baseball cap and sunglasses with a big camera slung over his shoulder can understandably arouse suspicion in some – and continued on with the wander enjoying the birds chirping and the long grass swaying with the gentle breeze.

Having made my way back to the brilliantly named “Nannypie Lane” and at the end of my walk, I snapped this shot of the Kent to bookend the one I took at the start (see extra).

For a Monday, and for just a moment, that was pretty good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.