Grammy

By Grammy

One of Those, Lazy, Hazy, Crazy Days of Summer…

Hot, humid and hazy all day with a short rain shower that brought back clear air, blue skies and white clouds as evening approached. Slept in for a little while this am. Then, together we made a tasty breakfast of steak or bacon, eggs, cheese, and tomato sandwiches, home fries and cheese Danish. It was so filling, we skipped lunch. We tidied up the camper and adjourned to our massive “living room” aka outdoors. Before it warmed up, I took a walk to the river and watched as a few folks took out kayaks. Hubby offered to take me canoeing but I just read that the flesh eating bacteria is rampant in our waterways this week. No thanks. We have an Air Monster fan that made it pleasant outside under our awning even though the temps got to 91 deg F. We read until my head kept bobbing and hubby brought out the hammock. You get to enjoy my view from 1:30 pm until 5:30 pm when it started to rain. With the canopy of Maple leaves shielding me from the sun and a breeze from the river, I was comfortable. I moved the bird feeder to the picnic table and had visits from cardinals, chickadees, pinesiskins, nuthatches, titmice, a blackbird and blue birds. I read, looked at Blip and FB entries and napped in between. What a wonderfully relaxing last day of vacation we’ve had. It brought back memories of enjoying the hammock at home while Mancil took his daily naps in the tent we set up for him out by the garden. Special times for sure. Hubby is reading a Dickens novel and he thoroughly enjoyed his quiet time today as well. Guess I should pull out our taco leftovers so we can savor the rest of the evening with our Kindles and a glass of wine.
"Nature has been for me, for as long as I remember, a source of solace, inspiration, adventure, and delight; a home, a teacher, a companion." - Lorraine Anderson

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.