Salvage

I discovered on Wednesday that I had a slow puncture, which meant a slightly tense journey, yesterday, stopping to check and top up the tyre pressure both before setting off to Kendal and returning.

First thing, this morning, then, I rang Kwik Fit and booked the car in and just before lunch I went to drop it off in Stretford. As it's the Minx's birthday on Sunday, I had already decided that I'd walk from here into Manchester and do a bit of shopping.

Now, a few years back, Dom and I went to an exhibition above a shop selling salvaged building materials and sundry items, and I'd always meant to go back but I had no idea where it was! Well, it turns out that it was on the road that I was taking into the city!

I was delighted by this because I'd intended to go to a salvage place in Ingleton to find something fitting for the new house but then of course we decamped to Salford because of Dan's self-isolation. Happily, the place I (re)discovered today had just the sort of thing I was looking for!

Having arranged to collect the item tomorrow - rather than trudge around town with it, today - I carried on into the city, heading to Fred Aldous. My route took me past the Manchester Art Gallery and it was near there that I saw the couple in my first extra.

I don't really feel comfortable taking photos of people without their permission but I have told myself it's OK: the shot is from behind (and, by some mad internal logic, I felt it was better doing it in black and white). I don't want to - and shouldn't have to - make a big deal about two guys walking around holding hands but when, as a country, we sometimes seem to be going in entirely the wrong direction culturally, it's nice to feel reassured that the regressives are a minority. On the whole, I'd like to think things are getting better and that's what I took away from seeing these guys.

Anyway, after a happy little shop at Fred's I went in search of bookshop but the cost of Bezos' gallivanting, pointless and self-aggrandising trip into space can be seen in my second extra. (It's OK, I found a Waterstones later on.)

And after that it was time for a late lunch with the Minx at El Gato Negro, before we wandered across to St Peter's Square for an after work drink with Hannah at the Anthologist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.