Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

An ode to the storm

It is a long held misconception that the beach really comes into its own on a beautiful summer day. This is because there are many elements to a summer beach that we all too easily forget.

First of all, playing football without shoes isn't fun, it hurts. Secondly, walking on dry sand is like walking on hot coals so you can pretty much forget about going for a paddle unless you're some sort of guru. Anyway, even if you do make it to the water to sooth your battered feet, you'll inevitably just stand on a crab. And finally, the children. Who the hell invites those flippin' idiots to the beach anyway? And how are you meant to interact with a naked three year old who's holding out a dead crab for your inspection?

No, not for me thanks. I like the beach to greet me with a slap of brine in the face, you have to fight the wind and the water to earn your place on that beach. You have to deserve it, it's not some naked free for all.

Immediately after I took this photograph water smashed against the pier and soaked me and my camera and when I re-emerged from the shelter my sodden face was smashed by snow. I definitely earned my place there today.

Audio file for those who want to know what it sounded like to be there.

Large.










Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.