Return to the North

By Viking

New toy

Well it’s not really a new toy but a work tool.

I have worked with Apple products for decades now and have always found them amazingly reliable but there comes a point when they start to become obsolete.

My current iMac was purchased in 2011 and works perfectly well……. As long as you don’t want to run the latest software products (in my case MS Office). I can live with its ‘slowness’ but it’s a dud if I can’t do my school work on it. I am gutted really as had it sent back from NZ specifically to work on.

Anyway I bit the bullet today and invested in a new one. The guy at Apple was good enough not to do the hard sell on the more expensive models and once I told him I was a teacher I got £120 off and a set of iPods (which I will sell on as basically I can’t use them) so in effect I’ve got £200 off :-)

It’s still a lot of money and will be eating beans on toast for a year but hey ho. Will eventually sell the old one on or put into Apples trade off scheme so that I can get a gift voucher or something. That said might be so old that they won’t take it :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.