Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Monkland

I knew keeping my Blipfoto journal up-to-date wouldn't last long!

Following on from yesterday's (Sunday's) walk in Coatbridge, I returned there on Monday. Having walked alongside part of the 'invisible' route of the Monkland Canal, I had the notion to visit the remaining visible part of the Canal today.

This time I took the train over to Coatbridge Central and started from more-or-less the same place as I left the North Calder Heritage Trail on Sunday evening. The Monkland Canal is still not visible at this point - there's an interesting bit of sculpture at Bank Street Basin (see extra) that attempts to say why - but I followed its route through West End Park and across Blair Bridge.

The Canal surfaces at this point and continues for a mile or two before disappearing again  This part of the route has a number of woodland trails as well as the canalside path, and there is access to Drumpellier Country Park with its extensive network of paths, as well as two good-sized lochs. But that's for another day.

I walked along the canalside path until it reached its end, then did a U-turn and walked back to the train station along the same route. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.