CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The view from John's house

I had arranged to go and help out my friends John and Liz to decorate their kitchen area this week while Liz is away working in Cornwall. We have worked together quite often over the years and I enjoy sharing the load with a friend. there is lots to do, but it isn't too hard and shouldn't be stressful.

John made me lunch before he had to go to town on some business, so I took the opportunity of having a cup of tea outside enjoying the scenery. They live on the hillside above the Painswick stream, which flows down towards Stroud to join the other four river valleys which together broke through the Cotswold escarpment in former times and now flow out to the River Severn, and then on to the sea.

Painswick is about three miles away behind the white houses, which are themselves on the edge of the hamlet of Pitchcombe. The ridges in the distance are wonderful viewpoints in themselves, and I like to see this different view of the local countryside, which is so beautiful. It was good to have some sunshine and a warmer day for a change and I expect I shall be taking more tea breaks to get fresh air and to let my eyes focus on the woods, farmland and the distant hilltops.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.