Purple Loosestrife and Meadowsweet

Since I was going to be busy later on with a photographic talk and some music with the Huddersfield Choral Society, we went out earlier for our walk, to Stonebow. The cygnets are as big as their parents but retain the brown colour and fluffy down.

The marshy meadow was bathed in the sweet scent of meadowsweet. Spikes of purple loosestrife were also pushing through. I gather it's actually a danger to the native flora. Should I tell idVerde, the company that looks after natural spaces for Charnwood Borough Council.

We sat on the seat by the green meadow where Basil is able to take a run. Splats of rain fell. A lady we met told us about the kingfisher that lives by the small pool. I think I could sit there all day and probably see nothing.

It began to rain as we were driving home. Still warm and humid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.