madowoi

By madowoi

A Moment Beauty in a Time of Need

I, who am only an incomprehensible
Bit of doodle myself,
On some tenement wall,
Some subway entrance.

Matchstick figure,
Heart pierced by an arrow.
Scratch of a parking maid
On a parked hearse.

CRAZY CHARLIE in red spraypaint
Crowding for warmth
With other unknown divinities
In an underpass with rain falling.

Tattooed City, by Charles Simic


Left the doctor's office and headed back to the airbnb alone. Reminded of other times I have driven away knowing the future was out of my hands. Stopped in traffic, this flower was a gift, and I chose to believe it might be a sign things would be OK. So far the news is good, but "there is still a ways to go." We will take it one step at a time, as always.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.