madowoi

By madowoi

Let Love Bloom

Maybe it's easier, having been named
     after someone: nobody
expects that you'll rule the underworld
   or judge the dead, but
they call you Pluto anyway. Planet, too.
   I know a girl like you
who used to be a thing she isn't anymore
   but hasn't changed at all.
Whose orbit didn't circle straight --
whose
   size & distance never quite
seemed right -- but no one cared til now.
   I was a woman once:
rounded by my own gravity, cat-called
   into hades by men who
could not see this gem of hard rock
   was not made of magnetic
for the likes of them. Hey little mama --
   don't take it so hard.
So we are frigid. So we stay relegated
   out here with our kin.
I'll wear my fade tight & my tie loose
   if you play your radio loud.
They say we're known only in
comparison
   to that which surrounds
us, so I'd guess they'll hear our signal
soon.
   I was a woman once,
but that's not the farthest thing from the
sun
   another universe might've
let me be: another universe might've let
us be.

If You're Staying, I'll Stay Too, by Meg Day


Things went well yesterday so today is simply about relaxing, eating well, and getting some decent sleep. Plenty to feel good about.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.