Dug

As a vegetable grower, newly dug spuds is one of my favourite sights, the smooth ovals emerging from the ground with a light frosting of soil and the promise of tender eating. These are second earlies, Jazzy by name, and I'm not sure how long they will keep so it will have to be potatoes for every meal henceforth.

As it happens I've just been reading about the latest variety of plant milk, made from potatoes. It's being promoted as massively more sustainable than other versions made from nuts or soya, and even oat milk since potatoes need half as much land. It's also free from common allergens and low in sugar and saturated fat. 
You can read about it here.

I'm intrigued by the name it as been given: DUG. Potatoes are dug up of course but is there an intentional or accidental pun with the archaic word for breasts - dugs? Best known from the wet nurse's speech in Romeo and Juliet where the old woman recollects weaning the child, Juliet, in the traditional manner:

When it did taste the wormwood on the nipple
Of my dug and felt it bitter, pretty fool,
To see it tetchy and fall out with the dug!


I'm not sure how this association will play out.
However, I wish Dug potato milk every success and hope for the sake of the environment that it becomes as popular and fashionable as oat and almond milks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.