An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

A miniature experiment...

Finally, I have caught up with myself!  

David took all the cushions off the garden chairs last night as thunderstorms were forecast for this afternoon, but there was no sign of them (till later) and we had another lovely, warm sunny day.  This is the longest spell of good weather I can remember in ages.

While we were having lunch, plans for this weekend suddenly mushroomed.    There will now be five of us for dinner here on Friday night (that includes D and me) with Agnes, Adrian and our friend Alan staying over (Adrian, David and Alan are playing golf in the afternoon)  

On Saturday Adrian will head off to work at lunchtime (Agnes staying on so we can spend the day together) and our brother in law Kenny and friend Keith will arrive to join Alan and David for more golf.  All or some of them may stay for dinner on Saturday night too.  I am keeping things simple and making a slow cooked curry and the usual accompaniments on Friday night, and lasagne, salad and garlic bread on Saturday night.  

I am also preparing for our friends from Skye and their two little girls coming to stay for a week next week.  I can't wait to see them.  We last saw them just before lockdown.  It will be a hectic but wonderful week!  

So I spent a chunk of the afternoon sorting out menus and shopping lists then gave myself a wee break by getting some of these tiny pre-cut rectangles of water colour paper out and doing some of my timed exercises where I only have between a minute and five minutes to complete a piece.  This little one took three minutes of painting time (probably five minutes all in if including drying time between sections ) and it's the only photo I took today.

The thunder did eventually reach us this evening but only two rumbles and a minute or two of rainfall.  Nothing like the spectacular event we were expecting.  Perhaps it will happen during the night :-) 

Backblips start here :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.