An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

After the rain...

The promised "threat to life"  thunderstorm didn't materialise yesterday evening, just two rumbles of thunder. I'm not complaining.  There was very heavy rain during the night though, but it was clear and dry when my alarm went off at 7.30am.

After lunch I went out to the garden to check on my plants.  I was convinced the heavy rain would have pulled the flowers from the stems but I was pleasantly surprised as they have weathered the downpour valiantly.

Also checked my little pots of herbs in the side garden and I am amazed at how well they are growing.  The mint is about a foot taller, the oregano, thyme, sage and lemon balm are fuller and thicker and the marjoram is running away with itself!  

While out there we had a good look at the side garden and have decided to remove a lot of the plants from there.  We had this area landscaped in 2017 after the building work was complete and whilst we are delighted with the hard landscaping, the plants the landscaper chose are far too big for the space.   And I have no idea why I agreed to let him plant bamboo!  Thankfully it was planted still in its pots so I am hoping the root spread won't be too bad.  

So the bamboo is coming out, the dogwoods are coming out, a couple of large shrubs that my plant identifier app keeps telling me are different things, are coming out, and the phlox on the shadier side that has been overshadowed by the bamboo is coming out as I can't remember the last time it flowered.  Not enough sun I reckon.  So will need to start thinking about what to plant in these areas.  I will blip the shrub I can't identify as I am sure many of you will be able to :-)

This little Welsh poppy seed head caught my eye while I was out there.  Unfortunately the focus is all to pot as it was quite breezy....well the breeze only picked up every time I pointed my camera at the seed head, when I was checking my camera settings the air was still.  Sod's law!

Local shops and Tesco food lists completed for the next week but just about to add a couple of last minute additions to the Tesco list.  I feel quite organised.  Something is obviously amiss!


Rant alert!


I can't believe the horrible comments being made about the young American gymnast Simone Biles on her decision to withdraw from the Olympics.  Whatever happened to be kind?  When we hear of well known people committing suicide we say they should have spoken out, should have asked for help, not put themselves under so much pressure, learned to take care of themselves first (like the plane scenario where we are told to put our own masks on first before helping other people with theirs)  Why then, when someone is brave enough to speak out, to admit their vulnerability to the entire world, to do exactly what we have told them to do,  are they met with anger, name calling, being told they are selfish, told they are weak and have let everyone down, that they should suck it up and get on with it?  It disgusts me!  That young woman has achieved more in her short life than the majority of us will ever achieve, and suffered more than many of us ever will.  Those condemning her need to take a good hard look at themselves!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.