Marionb

By Marionb

One Step Closer..

To Paddling My Own Canoe...

My sister ( CalicoCat) joined me today here at the cottage for a couple of days until I go home Thursday and she and her family move in for their time slot. I explained my latest project to her - to manage to get in and out of the canoe safely so I can go out for a paddle any time I want, even when I am here alone. I enlisted her help in my first trial run.You can tell by my blip today that we were successful. 

I did get in and out and lived to tell the tale...And the tale to tell was the one about the fish that jumped out of the water right beside me at the stern, splashed water all over me, and scared me so much that I nearly jumped off my seat. I didn't actually see the fish, but what else could it have been? As we were approaching one of the beaver dens, I thought maybe, just maybe, it could have been a beaver, warning us away... Could that be possible? And then a few minutes later as we got closer to the den, it happened again, close to the canoe but not right next to it as before... hmmm...The odds were starting to favour "beaver". Or if not, then a not-so-clever fish who needs to learn to stay away from boats, especially boats dragging hooks...  

The rest of the paddle was excitement-free.. no more wildlife leaping out of nowhere, just a turtle on a log; we managed to not tip the canoe, and no-one fell in the lake exiting it; our excursion was a total success. 

We have already decided to go out again in the morning .... we are on a winning streak...

In the extra, "Therein Be Beavers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.