Elegg

By Happyme

Now that's a first......

I must at last be doing something right. I have managed to stabilise my weight where I'm happy for it to be. Not weighed this little in over 50 years but it feels comfortable. I've worked hard, not so much to lose weight but to control my snacking, especially of biscuits and chocolate and all things sweet! I don't bake cakes on a weekly basis now, only as a treat if we have visitors or I really fancy it. Luckily Barry doesn't have a sweet tooth so he doesn't miss it. I find I'm missing it less and less just the odd craving. Hopefully I'll be able to repeat this same blip in a few months and a years time!
Keeping busy helps and I'm certainly that most days. Today I took a last minute unplanned trip on the bus to Stanhope. After my grocery delivery I realised I'd not bought the satsumas! Last week they were not so good and I was in two minds whether to reorder so I didn't, but I miss my daily fix if they're missing! It was a lovely trip in with regulars on the bus in and out. On the way back the bus driver brought me to the top of the hill so I didn't have to walk up with my heavy bags. Thank you Paul. The bus drivers on out route are lovely and really helpful to whoever gets on and off. I guess another bonus of country living.
I did a little bit of garden pottering, watering the poly tunnel. I then decided I really ought to vacuum indoors. A job I hate as I find the machines so cumbersome. I have a lightweight one for the newer part of the house but the kitchen and its uneven flags and rugs needs something more industrial! One day Barry plans to sort the floor in there so it will be easier but meantime...... After I'd finished I thought I'd better clean the lightweight as it hadn't been done for a while. The filters and roller were in a poor state, I'm surprised it had picked up anything. At least all the parts are now sparkling for the next time!
I made a new curry with chickpea dumplings for dinner which we both enjoyed. It also made me realise I definitely need to buy a food processor. My old one gave up the ghost a while ago and I haven't replaced it. I love my Kitchenaid mixer but there are some jobs that a processor does so well that a mixer can't tackle even with its attachments! I've started looking at reviews and YouTube videos but can't decide. Anyone with a processor they wouldn't be without please let me know!
The rain finally arrived this evening and with a wet day forecast for tomorrow I will leave the garden to fend for itself and get on with some sewing and processor research!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.