Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Pellucid Fly

Early posting for me today as I am going out tonight....with people that are not my family!  I am meeting some friends from IKEA whom I have not seen for 18 months, so looking forward to that. 

Wandered round the garden this morning when the boxing was on to find a blip and I'm glad I did, as it's been raining on and off for most of the day. This insect I believe is a pellucid hoverfly, one of Britain's largest flies. In fact I thought it was some sort of a bee at first. It is sometimes called the Great Pied Hoverfly on account of the black and white colouring. 

Three medals today for Team GB in Tokyo - Gold for the 4x200m freestyle men in the pool, a silver for the men's quadruple sculls in rowing and a fabulous bronze for Charlotte Dujardin and Gio in the Dressage Freestyle. This makes her the most decorated GB female Olympian ever.....but maybe Laura Kenny might have something to say about that later in the week(I hope!). 

Number of GB Medals today = 1G, 1S, 1B
Cumulative Medals = 5G, 6S, 5B (6th in the medal table)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.