Cornflower & Hoverfly

A weird weather day today, the met office app forecast was the opposite of the BBC weather app and neither were correct. A bit of rain and a lot of sun in the end, but quite windy. I really enjoyed watching the dressage today, love those dancing horses, and the gymnastics was just amazing. This morning I set up my replacement Fitbit Charge 4 after my new one had a faulty battery, but one of its features didn't appear. Contacted Fitbit and had a tortuous 33 min call with someone in the States who appeared to know far less about the product than I did. He gave the reason that it was only available on the premium subscription (untrue), I needed a different clockface (not available), I can see it on my app on my phone (no I can't), it is not meant to be shown on the Fitbit itself (I sent him the photo showing precisely that from their website), I need to wear it for 24 hours (we'll have to see). 

Day 499 / Day 10 of Step 4 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
New daily cases went up today, will it be is a one-off or the start of a trend? The Health Secretary says that from 16th Aug fully vaccinated people will not be legally obliged to take a test if they're pinged or contacted by T&T, only if they get symptoms, but it will be encouraged. Another twist in the very mixed messages the Govt is giving at the moment, with fully vaccinated travellers from the US and EU not having to quarantine when arriving in Eng from an amber list country. The vaccines have to be authorised by the FDA or EMA respectively. They still have to do a pre-departure test before arrival and a PCR test on day two after arrival. Labour has already expressed concerns and other issues have been raised about ensuring the validity of evidence as each US state issues their own evidence if they decide to, and so far over half are refusing certification as an overreach of Govt. Scotland is also to allow this. To me recent changes all feels like too much, too quickly to see the effect. US States with the lowest vaccination levels have seen hospital admissions rise rapidly - not sure how having one policy for travel to the US makes sense now. The UK is to offer Kenya 817k doses of the AZ vaccine. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.