Yikes!

The other side of my back fence is a private road and a few bungalows. The one in the corner has a garage who’s side wall is also my garden boundary. I’ve lived here 4.5 years now and I think there was only a few months that someone was living there. The elderly gentleman that owned it went into a care home and died at least 18 months ago. For the last 3 months or so a builder has been renovating it. I’m hoping this is the last of what must have been 10 skips. I can’t believe they spent about 15 mins getting it into this position, which looks very precarious, then drove off. It makes me realise just how much work I’ve done or had done since I’ve lived here. I'm really enjoying watching the Olympics, 2 silver and 3 bronze medals today and a gold for a swimmer who's had Covid twice!

Day 498 / Day 9 of Step 4 of Roadmap Easing (for my record only)
There were 131 Covid deaths today, the highest since mid-March. Re falling case numbers, Boris said that 'step 4 of the opening up only took place a few days ago; people have got to remain very cautious'. He also said people should ' stick with the programme' of self isolation. I've heard another possible reason for falling new cases, people not getting tested so they can still go on the UK holiday they've booked - I certainly hope for all our sakes that people aren't that selfish. Someone from the UEA has said that the crowds gathering for the Euros and resulting Covid cases 'effectively immunised a lot of younger people who wouldn't otherwise have come for or been available for a vaccine.' Prof Neil Ferguson of Imperial College said that the worst of the pandemic could be behind us by late Sept or Oct. Italian officials say that 99% of Covid deaths since Feb were in people not fully vaccinated, and those who were fully vaccinated were significantly older (88.6) and had more underlying health problems. 70% of the adult population of the EU has had at least one jab. Tokyo has seen record daily cases with the Olympics a factor - I was staggered that having banned spectators, they've been allowed to gather in parks to watch big screens etc. The Japanese PM has now asked people to watch it on tv at home. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.