Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Slick

The rocks slick with rain tell the story of what proved to be a fairly wet afternoon walk along the Bank to Shipley Glen, around the Lodepit Beck valley and then through Trench Meadows and along the river and canal to Saltaire.

There were a few sunny spells, particularly early on along the Bank, where I saw Gatekeeper, Small Copper, Meadow Brown, Ringlet, Small Heath and Small White butterflies, and briefly in Trench Meadows where it was mainly just Meadow Brown.

I popped into Salts Mill in search of some gifts for an upcoming  event - I found a couple of suitable things and of course picked up a book for myself in the process. They still have their Covid one-way system in place, and shoppers were virtually all in masks, although when you leave your umbrella at the entrance it is then quite a feat to find your way back to reclaim it. It was fairly quiet though as I got in just before closing.

As you can see, the heather is just starting to show. Maybe I should fit in a walk over the moors across to Ilkley before the grouse shooting parties start to wreck the peace, 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.