The dropped stitch

By Bodkin

a bright pot

Woke up to no power, so no cup of tea, which for me is not a good start to any day.

A call to SSE to ask when the power might return always leaves one feeling cared for - sometimes rather too cared for. They seem to have me on a list of 'the very frail' and talk to me as if I am on the way out of this world, rather than just rather fed up because I can't get my morning cuppa.
Anyway, having reassured the wife at SSE that I could cope until lunchtime with no electricity, we headed off to Kirkwall for shopping.

First stop, of course, had to be a café to get a hot drink. The waitress  kindly added a cheesecake to my order (she must have been talking to the SSE wife who thought I needed building up).

Spent the afternoon emptying and cleaning the old car ready to part with it.
Zoom meeting tonight.

The bright pot was for sale in the local garden centre. It is made of an alternative to plastic - PLA - which is fermented plant starch. This means it naturally degrades when exposed to the environment. 

Have only had time for a quick internet search, but apparently, a PLA bottle left in the sea would degrade in six to 24 months, compared to a conventional plastic bottle which can take several hundred to a thousand years to degrade. (Obviously not a good idea to throw either in the sea though). 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.