helenann

By helenann

Scones save the day

A slow start to the day after our rather alcoholic- tiring, but very enjoyable, Livery Company  lunch  in London yesterday.
Then caught up with some correspondence, had  my ears micro suctioned ( oh, the relief to be freed of the buzzing !) and visited my former  colleagues,  at the optical practice,  to catch  up on the gossip, and to get  my specs adjusted by the dispensing optician. I miss my colleagues and the patients,  but don't miss having to go into work every day and doing battle with PPE and computerised record keeping.

This  evening watched Chris Packham's most excellent TV programme called The Walk That Made Me, in which he had filmed himself one day last spring walking from Eastleigh to Winchester along the  River Itchen, a route I too know very well. It wasn't just about nature, but the struggles  he has faced, and overcome, in coming to terms with the effects and consequences of having  Asperger's syndrome. He  encouraged  viewers to look out for, and open  up dialogue with, other people who may also be struggling with mental health problems.  

I realised I still hadn't got  a blip for today, partly because every time I thought  I would  go out in the garden there would be another very heavy rain shower, which kept  me inside
So, I had no choice but  to bake  some scones (to an apparently  fail safe Mary Berry recipe my sister had given me recently), to eat with the strawberry jam  we made earlier in the  week. Here they are, photographed just  before midnight. They are the best scones I have ever made- I think I have cracked it, at last!  See extra 

    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.