helenann

By helenann

Cherry plums

This morning we had arranged to meet a friend at our local  wildlife  area to discuss its management. We have  a lot of thuggish hogweed growing there which tends to out- compete many  smaller, more delicate, plants.
In my  dreams, I would like to have a couple of donkeys grazing there but I am not sure how helpful they would be; they would  probably avoid the hogweed and concentrate on eating all the more  interesting meadow plants! Being realistic,instead, we agreed Colin would mow some of the  hogweed  now, before  the seeds ripen, to see what  effect this has on the biodiversity. 
While there, I noticed that our two Mirabelle plum trees,  or  Cherry Plum, which I blipped back in March, when they were full of blossom, are now full of fruit. The idea is to leave the plums for the birds, although I suspect  some humans will enjoy  them too.
Back home, we picked the first of our dwarf French beans and some more courgettes,and prepared for wet and windy conditions  forecast for tomorrow.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.