Out!

Today brought two big events.

First, I went to the bank. This happens about twice a year when some peanut brain sends me a cheque*. This time it was the taxman. £100 or thereby. I was not expecting a refund. Neither was my accountant. For some reason, the tax people could not pay it direct to my bank account. 

Peanuts for brains. 

I hate banks. I hate going into banks. More recently, it has become clear they attract natural Covidiots. Well, today was no exception. 

I should be grateful I was only there for 10 minutes to spend 20 seconds paying in the cheque. 

Then the next big event - to restore my soul (at the expense of my waistline) I took myself out for brunch - French toast and an Americano at the Harbour Cafe in Dysart.  

Both were delicious. Only the coffee features in the Blip because the lightbulb moment came to me during the slightly extended wait for the food to arrive. 

The kitchen is open so the chaos was in full view. The cook seemed to spend most of his time looking for things - perhaps he is new because he was not the one slaving over the hot stove when I was last there. He was also struggling to make poached eggs. We shall see how long he lasts. 

* Ed note:- Yes, the archaic UK banking system still deals in cheques. Folks in more modern places should take pity on us. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.