Marionb

By Marionb

You Don't Know Me But....

Ever had to start a phone call with those words? A bit embarrassing, but a great way to make new friends! 

It was a stormy morning and when the rain stopped and my sister and I were eating breakfast in the porch, we noticed something floating out in front of the cottage -  a seemingly small object. It could be harmless, but it could be a problem, and as it was heading for our water line, we kept a close eye on it;  it got past the water line OK but we decided to go down to the shore to investigate anyway... It was round and flat on top and barely visible on the water, but seemed to be a sawed-off tree trunk standing upright in the water with two long branches extending out from it...Any object out there can be an issue if a boat hits it, but a tree trunk that huge? Yikes. We thought we had better do something about that...

We bailed out the canoe, with our newly acquired confidence as canoeists ( heh heh) went out into the bay to try to force this tree trunk toward shore..Our plan? Push it with our paddles.. Picture that! Of course, it didn't work. And even if we got it to shore, then what? Plan B?  Call a neighbouring cottager for help, but no-one seemed to be around. I called the only person I had a number for and he was in town, but he gave me the number of Matt, a new cottager I had never met.....Hence, the "You don't know me but ...I am in the cottage across the bay from you and could use some help removing a navigational hazard....." 

Matt was most willing to help, came over to tow it away, and unable to get hold of it, had to disrobe, jump out of his boat into the water and somehow tie a rope around it - somewhat tricky as he was the only person in the boat - or more importantly, not in the boat...he did manage to do that and get back in...and then towed it into our back bay where it is now ensconced with other fallen trees in the marshy end of the bay. What a great guy..and a new friend....there will be drinks on the dock one of these days to further our acquaintance....

After that little problem was solved I left the cottage and headed home, only to be greeted by my very angry cat Maggie..who gave me her  " Don't even talk to me!" treatment..She does not like being abandoned while I take off for weeks on end, and does not forgive easily. She must be placated or life will be hell  ...(cat treats usually work...)   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.