ashep

By ashep

Cab Sav

I did my wine tour today with a company called Wine for Dudes, which I highly recommend if you're ever in the Margaret River area, and it was the perfect rainy day to do it. We ended up going to 5 wineries, a brewery, and a chocolate factory, with a delicious lunch at one of the wineries included. Such a fantastic day and I definitely learned a lot about the wine making process and the different wines that grow in the region. There are 160 different wineries in this tiny region, and we ended up going to 5 of them: Leeuwin Estates (winner of the best chardonnay in the world in 1981, putting the region on the map for good wines), Hay Shed Estate, Vasse Felix, Peacetree, and Saracen Estates . My favourites were definitely the smaller, more personal wineries, you could tell that the owners and winemakers were so much more passionate. Some of the bigger ones just felt like the tastings were more business than a real passion for their wine. I won't get a chance to see the beach here before I leave, which is a shame because they're holding a huge surf competition here this weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.