Its the friends

we meet along the way that help us enjoy the journey, and these two friends were in my life even before I met them, as our mothers were in the same hospital at the same time giving birth to us, NOT all on the same day though.  I arrived on the 27th, & Jane the 29th August,  Jeanette the 1st September. We did'nt bump into each other again until we were 11years of age, all sharing a love of horses. Jeanette is the sensible one, Jane the clever one, & I'm the one that's never really grown up. We try and meet up when Jane, who lives & works in Barbados, comes home to visit her family who live in a nearby village. That did'nt happen last year obviously with Covid, and it's been a long & frustrating wait this year but she managed to get back for her dad's 90th birthday at the weekend. Jeanette's mum celebrated her 101st birthday last week. I see Jeanette from time to time, & Jane a couple of times each visit if possible, but it's always great for the three of us to  meet up & have lunch together.
I spent a few hours on the plot earlier .. feeding the rapidly growing pumpkin & squash, runner beans, French beans etc. I decided to make up a box of veggies for Jane & her family from the plot as a gift. I actually had a veg box with a Union Jack print on it so used that. Potatoes, beetroot, wonky carrots, broad beans (Jane's mum's favourite veggie), patty pan squash, courgette, chipples (spring onions), plus a bundle of rhubarb. I made 120 Hebe cuttings from prunings at G & J's, potted on 24 Hebe Autumn Glory from last years cuttings, plus a pot of Physocarpus 'Diablo' cuttings.

A back blip for yesterday, the Olympic action is quite a distraction, some great performances from Team GB :-). I'm off again to meet up with Jane and another friend from our horse riding days. Jane & Mandy have'nt seen each other for 40 years. I saw Mandy one day in Chudleigh, thought I knew her immediately, I've thought it before and been wrong, but on this occasion I was right. She still has horses, in fact it was manure from her yard feeding the plants on my plot at the mo. Catch you again later. Busy day field and track from Tokyo so will have to limber up. Not the sort of weather to be doing much else as it happens.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.