Owl and Turtle

I couldn't bring myself to parody the drama behind these photos. So this reporter will take a day off from her duties at the AOG.

This large Barred Owl has been hanging around our pond all week. I figured that she was stalking the frogs and serpents living there. This morning I spotted her and grabbed my camera. She swooped down to the ground behind the pond and then up to a limb of the Elm tree. I noticed, as I was shooting away, that she had something in her beak. I figured that it was one of the sweet little voles but upon closer inspection I realized that it was a small turtle. Most likely a young Gopher Tortoise. There are Gopher Tortoise burrows around the more 'wild' area of the yard but I had never actually seen one. Gopher Tortoises are an endangered and protected species here in Florida. If you are caught with one in your possession there are hefty fines. I try hard not to allow myself to play 'goddess' and to stay out of wild animals' business, unless I can actually help them survive. But I would have intervened in this situation to save the Tortoise. I realize that the Owl must also eat to survive but...my only hope for the little Gopher is that maybe, just maybe when the Owl drops it's prey at some point, the Tortoise will be able to pull that leg into it's shell and survive this encounter. I sincerely hope so!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.