NatureQueen123

By TheLoveOfNature

Happy Gotcha Day Duckies!

Three years ago today, the ducks came for a holiday. They used to live in the Walled Garden at Colby. It had been their home for 4 or 5 years. Unfortunately kids started to chase them and try and grab them. They became really distressed :( Holiday times were the worst! Easter of that year was really bad. They hid for weeks. It was so sad to see them like that.

The six weeks Summer holidays were approaching and something had to be done! They were kept in a big pen for awhile. Only during the day whilst visitors were around, but somehow they kept getting out. 

After a week of begging my Mum to let them come to us for the holidays, she finally gave in. Wahooo! I went to Colby in the morning and helped the gardener get them into a travel carrier. She went with the other gardener and they brought the duckies and their house to my garden. I followed on. 

As we arrived, it absolutely poured! The rain was bouncing! We got their house into place and then put the ducks inside. I stayed home because I wanted to be with them and for them to see a familiar face.

I’d noticed big gaps in the material of their house, so my Mum and I were out in the torrential rain trying to fix it. We stapled up the holes and finally got to go inside. We were absolutely drenched!

We had to keep them shut in their house for 3 days, to get them used to their new surroundings. When my Dad came home that evening, we just told him to look out the window. Surprisingly, he wasn’t mad. He actually went straight online and bought them a proper house, the house they live in now, Duckingham Palace.

They were loving life and you could see that they were so much happier! I’d report back to the gardeners on how they were doing. September came and the holidays were over. A meeting was held and they decided that the duckies were much better off away from Colby and any kids, so they could stay with us.

Today, we celebrate their 3 year Anniversary/Gotcha Day! Just like this day 3 years ago, it’s raining, although not as torrential. I did manage to pop out to see them in between showers. They’re loving life and are so much happier. We love having them here.

If it wasn’t raining and I wasn’t I’ll, I’d sit outside with them and maybe even try digging up a few worms for them haha Maybe I’ll do a belated celebration.

In my extra blip, I’ve dug out the first photo of them in our garden. I took that on the day that we first let them out. They were a bit unsure first of all, but soon waddled around the whole garden checking out their new home. They are living their best lives now and it makes me so happy to see them loving life! :-D 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.