Beinghere

By Beinghere

Grooming Day

We went to Innergelly Wood at Kilrenny for our walk this morning, then stopped at Anstruther on the way back. I went to the hardware store for Hammerite and sand paper so I can start rubbing down the garden benches tomorrow hopefully. Went to Co-op for shampoo for Geordie, then home again.
After lunch I set about turning my scruffy mutt into a handsome pooch.
A good bath and shower was followed by a blow dry. Then I set up the grooming parlour on the patio. Geordie stands on the bench so he’s an easier height for me. For the first time I used the electric clippers. He didn’t like the noise, but he put up with it well. I did his body with the clippers, then his head, legs and undercarriage with the scissors. I think he’s turned out fine. He feels like velvet and should cope a lot better with the warm weather.
And the bonus is - I saved £55 by doing it myself.
After I’d gathered up as much of the hair as I could, we went for a walk around the village to show of his new look. We got lots of lovely comments.

On our way home we came past the bathing pool just as an ambulance was arriving.
A woman had developed hypothermia after only being in the water for 15 mins. The First Responders were already there. The ambulance could get nowhere near the pool. Next came Coastguard Rescue. By this point there were lots of emergency personnel around the woman, who was on a stretcher, but no means of getting her off the side of the pool, and up the steep steps or slope to the ambulance.
Then the lifeboat arrived from Anstruther. Eventually the stretcher was carried down to the lifeboat, which then made its way back round to one of the slipways at the harbour and the poor woman was lifted into an ambulance, on hour and a half after she collapsed.

Most days for the last month there have been scores, or at weekends hundreds, of people of all ages in and around the pool. With no access for emergency services the situation needs to be examined. If the tide had been further out the lifeboat would have got nowhere near the pool, or if the person was in even more urgent need of medical care, I don’t know what would have happened then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.