lemonzest

By lemonzest

Chlewogaleria

The dogs caused me to sleep little and wake to the sensation of living in a cess pit. I'm not sure why but the bright side was that I had the opportunity to visit the Malczewskis in Buda Ruska. More particularly, I wanted to give Agnieszka a large jug which I thought would be useful. 

A house with a museum devoted to the trans-Siberian railway and Mongolian Buddhism might seem a little unexpected in the Polish countryside. Chlewogaleria translates as pig-sty gallery - it is situated in space which was originally intended for pigs. Piotr is an anthropologist and explorer who makes frequent visits to Lake Baikal, the subject of of his latest weighty book, the first copy of which had just arrived.

I had a look around the museum which is fascinating and contains a lot of interesting photographs and artefacts. I was amazed to see real bricks of tea and a trumpet made from a human femur and listen to the peaceful tones of Buddhist chanting. Walking down to the river, I was hardly surprised by a boat which seemed to be hanging in mid air. I was also treated to a second breakfast which included some scrambled eggs with Lithuanian herrings and good coffee. A new beginning to a day with a less uplifting start.

I then called in on the Strumiłłos, had another coffee with Rafal and a chat with Anna before returning home to an unusually busy day. The side gate now opens, which it hadn't for several years, one lawn is mown and the cieling in the workshop is closer to completion. Thanks to B and F.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.