Harvest

Usually when I write about "harvest" I'm talking about ripening berries in the forest, or something in the garden coming to fruition. However, other creatures also have their harvest.
Sitting on our deck today we were admiring the flowers growing around us. Suddenly I saw this very colourful caterpillar munching on a sweet-pea leaf. It was very energetic, nodding its head as it sawed along the edge of the leaf.  Jan was a bit dubious about leaving this beastie to munch on her sweet-pea and when I spotted two more gorging themselves she decided they had to go. I clipped off the leaf each one was feeding on and moved it over to a garden pea vine nearby that had already given us its peas. I hope they like pea leaves as much as sweet pea leaves.
I'm happy to share my harvest with other creatures, as long as they don't eat everything!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.