Below Par

The day did not begin well. Woken in the small hours by a tornado warning, firstly by an alert on my phone, followed by sirens outside, the sound as one might imagine an air raid to be, sent us scurrying to the basement, cats in tow. One of said cats was not keen on the idea and sprang from my grip leaving bloody scratches on my face.

Hearing dripping, on investigation, water was coming in below the septic pipe at an alarming rate. I assume the ground outside was so dry and rain so intense, it was following the course of least resistance, forced in by hydrostatic pressure.

Fortunately, the storm passed and we survived without further ado. Regaining sleep was difficult and when it came, fitful, leaving me somewhat below par for the rest of the day.

Despite over an inch of rain in a few short hours, the water level in the lake also remained below its usual state. I did notice the usually solid green surface was disturbed at the mouth of the inlet, indicating to me there was some inflow.

I made use of a polariser to remove some of the glare from the algae, intensifying its green colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.