Tryfan46

By Tryfan46

Home made pasta -ravioli

Was given a pasta making machine and accessories for a birthday present a few years ago and despite having a go just afterwards, it's hardly been used. I was working at the time!

However, now being retired for more than 18 months, I've run out of excuses and had to have a go. I had also bought pasta flour some time ago and its "Use By" date was March 2013. So, nothing for it, had to be done.

Appalling instructions - which I tried to follow but needed a 3rd egg for the quantity of flour given in the recipe and some lukewarm water. Made dough and let it rest while making the filling of spinach, ricotta, parmesan, nutmeg, salt and pepper.

Successfully rolled out a thin sheet and layed in on the ravioli tin, which I'd floured. Added filling and put on the top layer. With difficulty rolled it to seal and perforate. Had put too much filling in and should have oiled tin beforehand as getting the ravioli out of the tin was a problem, but with time and patience, was able to achieve.

My wife made one of our favourite soups - Pasta One Pot - which ususally had bought filled pasta shapes. This time it had my ravioli - and it turned out just right. Now still have a large chunck of pasta left as well as more filling - that's for tomorrow's effort.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.