My New Hat

This little boy had slumped by the side of the path to the Gardens of Imagination at Calke Abbey this afternoon. I don't reckon he was quite three and could possibly have benefited from being pushed in a pushchair.
But he had a new hat which I thought looked quite jolly. I asked if I could have a photo and he agreed. I hope he made it to the garden.

We certainly enjoyed the walled garden which was awash with colour. Very pleasant sitting in the sunshine.

Calke Abbey, owned by the National Trust, has changed its policy on dogs this year. Dogs can now be taken into the garden providing they're on a short lead. I hope it continues.

We chatted to all sorts of people this afternoon quite unlike the past. Perhaps getting out to visit places after the restrictions of lockdown has opened up people, or opened up us. Len had been morose this morning. He enjoyed the walk and the flowers but he was gloomy again by this evening.

It didn't help that when he took Basil out this evening the daft dog rushed across a road to inspect another dog and then started barking at it. Fortunately, its owner didn't seem to mind but it is alarming that he rushes across the road. Short lead this week mate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.