Basil with a bee

I had a variety of basil called African Blue Basil and it went to seed. I let it go because I've never seen basil flower. The bees are loving it. I was lucky to catch one collecting pollen.
Didn't go anywhere today so another shot from the garden!
Woke up to a power outage, so hopped out of bed at 4:45am and called Hydro. The outage had already been reported and was caused by a tree down on the line, a crew was on site, and the estimated time for the power to be back was 7am. It came on at 6:48am!  Always so appreciative of the BC Hydro crews. When G checked the timers on the well, it looked like it had been out for about 4 hours. I wondered who would have reported it or noticed it being out in the middle of the night and hoped it wasn't caused by an vehicle hitting the tree and causing it to fall on the wires. 
Weird light with a bit of smoky haze and very muggy again. Nothing like it is in the interior of the province though. To see what conditions are like there, check out Dunnie's blips from July 30 and 31. We go back a long way, about 40 years.  D, G and I worked in education in Prince George and I played basketball with his wife. Great to that he's blipping now too!  I've talked a few times to my friend in Kamloops as well, and she's struggling with the heavy smoke there. I really hope they get a break from the heat and the smoke soon. It's supposed to cool down a bit this week and we might even get a bit of much needed rain. Fingers crossed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.