JanetMayes

By JanetMayes

Project 365 day 213: Herbs

It's been wet today, so I've barely been outside. I'm not complaining, the garden and the trees needed the water. The basil and oregano on the balcony are doing well. It's a suntrap, when it's sunny, south east facing, and it's a good sized space above a bit of flat roof, so I fill it with tomato plants, herbs and a few flowers. 

In between helping J with various activities and necessities, I've managed to clean, chop and bag six bolting lettuces for the freezer. They will be used in blended green soups. I've also prepared a cauliflower from the garden, which P stir-fried this evening with our courgettes, C's onions and  other (shop-bought) vegetables, and I'm about to re-load the dehydrator with more oregano. We try to use our cheaper night-time electricity for things like this, so P will switch it on when he gets up for his early morning walk. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.