Front Light For Colour

An unexpected phone call inviting me to an evening event prompted me to go out photographing in harsh light I would normally avoid. I was reminded of the adage: backlight for silhouette, sidelight for texture and front light for colour.

This day lily just shouted to have its colour recorded and so nicely set off against the dark red version behind it. I certainly get the feeling of warm sunshine from this image.

Normally with a definite subject I would be inclined to place it front and centre, but it this case I've pushed the main flower to the right edge to allow for the red blooms. Fortunately the left hand one has some yellow in the centre forming a relationship to the main subject which allows the eye to bounce between them both.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.