Inky Patterns

Stars aligned to produce conditions conducive for this type of shot. A couple of powerful boats created sufficient swell, washing waves on to the shore with plenty of the right kind of ripples. The sun was bright and at just the right angle to catch the waves.

I began by exposing for the bright areas and captured a familiar shot. I thought to try reducing exposure, to avoid blown highlights. Thinking I had not gone far enough, I took several more frames, each time reducing exposure, intrigued by the outcome. Then I experimented with focal length and direction, the effect being different every time.

I like how there are warm tones in the half light. In some of the others, there were also blues, presumably from the sky. Adjusting white balance also produced varying results.

Like a watercolour bloom, you have to celebrate happy accidents.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.