SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Still life with toaster and two timers

As mentioned yesterday, my beloved spent the night at her mother's.  Fortunately for all she lives close by (about 2km) and she's on the mend, so we're back together again.

I got up much earlier than usual today as we had a new bed to be delivered and I did not know what time, so I needed to prepare.  I found myself in the kitchen on my own and was greeted by this unusual, seasonal ray of direct sunlight in what is usually the darkest corner of the kitchen - I've always loved these unscripted moments so was glad to catch it.  I was going to say "unpredictable" but of course it is highly predictable - just not something I spend my time working out.

I'll spare you the details of my day - mundane, slow, got a bed delivered, made it, took a few photos (see extra "kangaroo paw") as a way to acclimatise myself to my new (second hand) lens.  It is indeed unusual and pretty magical but requires some getting used to.  I'm also teaching myself how to "fine tune" the auto focus for it.  My eyes are not particularly good and, wearing multi-focals, as I do, it's pretty well impossible to use "live view" without being on a tripod.  I read today that focusing in live view is a better way to get correct focus as it is what the sensor sees, rather than what I see via the mirrors.  I knew that it was "better" because you can zoom in on it but not because you are actually seeing what the camera really sees.

Tomorrow - back to work and, time permitting, my third attempt at shaving with a double edged "safety razor".  I'm pretty sure I started with one all those years ago but cannot recall.  I spent many years bearded too.  Yesterday I watched a 17 minute YouTube tutorial made by some Scottish bloke - bit of a chore to watch but glad I did as he commented every now and then on what he was doing and his comments were most informative.  My first attempt (pre the video) resulted in no cuts but a fair bit of razor rash; my second attempt, post video, was considerably better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.