SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Light Music Club

I went into Milsons Point on this day (two days ago) for day one of a two day "off site" meeting.  About 80 of us all in the same room for the first time since COVID began.  Not the whole company but probably close to 50%.  I got myself a "real" coffee before it started.

This record label caught my eye as it's a blast from the past.  It may have been an Australia record club from the 60s / 70s - the sort where you pay $6 up front and get to choose 6 records and then pay a yearly subscription and get another record every month or two (something like that anyway).  My dad had a few discs with this label.

I joined "The World Record Club" (which did not use its own labels) in about 1973 and still have some of the records from the original 6 (two of Gordon Lightfoot's).  Mostly "Reprise" and other associated labels (not everything in other words).

They were substandard Australian reproductions on thin vinyl with flimsy covers, often a single cover where the original was a gatefold.  Vinyl was expensive / in short supply at times during the 70s though so I shouldn't be too hard.  By 1975 I'd graduated to buying US and UK imports from what was Angel Records (under the stairs at Town Hall station) which eventually became Red Eye Records.

Red Eye still exists today and had its own label for a while (including the earliest Cruel Sea albums).  Chris (who I think was one half of Angel Records) can still be seen in Red Eye (well, he was there a few years ago).

Those were the days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.