Spike!

Made an expedition up to Tattie Shaw's - hope to re-establish my regular visits after deciding to dispense with the veg box. Found myself in a short queue behind our neighbour, the one and only Nut Man. He was buying industrial quantities of nuts. After he'd gone we had a long blether about him - Tattie (James) had assumed he lived somewhere out in the country, not in the heart of urban Leith, and was shocked to hear of the squirrel population explosion. Still, at least the nut sales have helped sustain TS's through lockdown!

Noticed that two of the three orchids that I separated out once I got a new glass container have responded by putting up flower spikes - hurray! And the self-seeded spored ferns, both maidenhair and nondescript, seem to have survived the upheaval.

Now I must go and do some Gaelic - just noticed that if I complete a lesson on Duolingo today I'll have completed a 1000 day streak. I don't know if any bells and whistles will sound. I only started this because I had idly wondered what the ladies in the Lochboisdale post office were chatting about when we popped in there about 30 years ago. I may never know, but I can now translate: "Answer the question, Mairi! Where are the underpants!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.