Ubuntu

"Ubuntu is an ancient African word meaning ‘humanity to others’. It is often described as reminding us that ‘I am what I am because of who we all are’." It's also the name of the Linux operating system I work with, and normally it's a calm environment that I love to work in, and such a contrast to Windows. For example, when I mis-type my password, I get a message "Sorry, that didn't work. Please try again." rather than Windows' "The password was incorrect". 

However, this evening, after a busy day with a student and her code, I was cursing my machine for hours, unable to fathom why something basic and reliable wasn't working. Until I realised, and suddenly problems I'd had with my old desktop last month were explained. The fix was simple, and I've added it to my knowledge bank.

I've not been out today - as you might guess...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.