Sneaky Reg!

Reggie's latest evening pursuit is rat watching...and catching! He is very stealthy and able to creep up on them before they know what's  happening! He never eats them, just one puncture wound which you can see if you look closely, and then off to stalk the next one. A natural, humane and cheap way for us to hopefully, eventually put them off returning to the garden. 
Earlier in the day I went down the garden to dig a couple of potato plants that had died off. It turned into a couple of hours of weeding and sorting out the next door patch. Not what I'd planned but a good job done. I then started to dig out some of the remaining rocks from my top bank garden, to make it less treacherous to walk on, especially when pegging out the washing. I didn't get as far as filling in the pursuing holes I'd made as I ran out of time before dinner called! I may get that finished tomorrow but we are off to collect three new hens at lunch time so that will interrupt the day a bit. I hope they will all get on when we introduce the new ones. Ours are hardly laying at all now. We think we were actually sold older hens than we thought when we got them so these new ones have just come to point of lay. They are Rhode rock hens and hopefully proficient layers. Not sure whether I will name them or not. Our originals were all different when we got them but as they moulted and got their new plumage they all looked almost identical! Either way I will love them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.