Dear Deer

I had to chauffeur mrsfb to a funeral today, a colleague from her teaching days. It was at Cheltenham Crematorium, which we had never been to before. While I was waiting I had a stroll. The graveyard is massive, with lots of very well tended graves.

I thought these deer statues would make a nice blip and looked them up when we got home. Apparently they cost £10000 when the crematorium was revamped a couple of years ago. The money was raised from sales of recycled metal from bodies - replacement joints, pins and implants!!

When we left Northleach it looked as though people were arriving for a wedding. When we got back we just happened to draw up at the traffic lights as the bride and groom stopped in the wedding car leaving Northleach at the opposite lights. It must have been a very long event. They were in an old vintage car, not sure exactly what, but it had those orange pop out trafficators rather than indicator lights.

In other news on the way to Cheltenham I almost hit a red kite on the road. It swooped down for something right alongside us on the A40 and then flew towards us. I had to brake to avoid it! I must get a dash cam!

One year ago:
Furry Bear

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.