Winterbourne House and Gardens

As Stephen set off this morning to umpire a cricket match near Solihull, I took myself off on the Cross-City train line to University Station where I then walked through part of the huge Birmingham University campus to go to Winterbourne House and Gardens. They are part of the University itself but the public can visit.
I got there half an hour after it opened at 10.30am and had a wonderfully relaxing unwinding time just wandering through the extensive grounds.
There is a lovely little café/restaurant there where you can either sit outside on the terrace or inside.
The usual social distancing, hand gel and masks applying when entering through the House where the reception is situated.
Also when ordering drinks, snacks or a meal.
I had a coffee on the terrace when I arrived and lunch before I caught the train home.
It’s like a breathing green space in the city suburbs. One of the highlights was seeing a Kingfisher on a branch nearby, then diving to catch a fish in the large reservoir, which is alongside the garden grounds and woods.
This is accessed courtesy of Edgbaston Golf club, through a small metal gate bearing a notice to that effect, which is situated on one side of the reservoir itself.
Photo in extras
We go up North tomorrow to stay overnight in North Yorkshire. As we now cannot visit my sister and hubby we are musing over what to do with the blank canvas of a day.
Several things have been thought of, so I guess it will all meld together before too long!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.