Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Calder

A man on a mission!

Just over a week ago, I found myself on the North Calder Heritage Trail and walking 'back the way' (as it were) towards its start-point. Today, as in the words of the song, I decided to start at the very beginning. It's a very good place to start.

Took the train over to Coatbridge Central and walked east along the route of the Monkland Canal. At this point the Canal itself wasn't visible but in places one could clearly make out the route it used to follow. Leaving the industrial (or post-industrial) and residential parts of Coatbridge behind, the Canal reappears in view as it meanders south-east (above photo). As it reaches Calderbank it joins the North Calder Water. The Trail then follows that water-course north-east, then east towards Airdrie. (And beyond, but that's for another day.)

I ended my walk in Airdrie and made my way to Drumgelloch station to catch the train back to Coatbridge where I got another train back to Cumbernauld and my car. I reckon I had walked about nine miles of the 16-mile Trail.

The map suggests the first part of the remaining stretch might be quite enjoyable, but then there's a bit of roadside walking followed by a tarmac'd path following the route of a disused railway line with only the last mile or so offering any variety. But, as I said above, that's for another day. Happy to reflect on a good afternoon's walk today.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.