Usually I see Cinnabar caterpillars on ragwort near the coast but until today had seldom seen them in a nearby field.    Extra;   A not very clear photo but better than the ones I took of the two Common darters which were flying around while mating then landed on the path before settling on some stems of long grass. It is a bit easier to see the red male on top of the yellowish female and the double wings can just be made out.  Another mating was happening with a bee attached to a huge bee as they flew around and I assume that it was a drone with a queen bee - an action which I had never seen before whereas I had sometimes seen mating dragonflies..  I was very excited to see the yellow and black caterpillar with the long hairs walking along a fence as it is of the Alder moth which is rare in Scotland.  (This is a cheat as I took the photo last week at Culzean)    The black caterpillar with white spots is that of the common Peacock butterfly although I have seen very few this year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.