a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Oldest ...

Wide Wednesday: Symmetry 

Vicar's Close in Wells is reputed to be the oldest purely residential street with original surviving buildings in Europe.  The earliest houses were built in 1363, the most recent had been completed by 1412.  

It was built on the orders of Bishop Ralph of Shrewsbury to house the chantry priests whose job it was to chant the divine service at the nearby Wells Cathedral 8 times a day.  To put that into its historical perspective: the earliest of these houses were completed shortly before Henry IV (Prince Hal as Shakespeare called him) was born.

As you can see I was up early this morning to take this shot.  I saw Vicar's Close when we visited on Monday and I realised then that it would make a great Wide Wednesday blip for Bob's symmetrical challenge this week.  I had to get out early as we have some builders at work on a new patio today and I wasn't sure how easy it would be for me to go off in search of a shot later in the day.  

I had hoped that I might have avoided the parked cars at this time of day, (although there are no doubt yellow lines there are signs that make it clear that parking is not allowed). I toyed with the idea of attempting to clone them out, but they do help provide a sense of scale which is actually quite useful.

Later:  its a bit late in the day, but I've added an extra of a chap on roller skates performing at Bath Victoria Park.  He landed perfectly from this move.  The young lads are (rightly) amazed at his skill - the older skater boarders haven't even noticed. 1/1250, f4.0, ISO 320.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.